Recent Searches

A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City

star-4.526 Reviews
York, United Kingdom
A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City

From $23.87

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket


Puzzle fans need look no further than this immersive York treasure hunt murder mystery, set in 1491, that’s sent to your phone (over the Telegram app) as a series of riddles. Discover classic sights and quirky delights as you unravel each cryptic clue, unlock the path to the next location—and bring the criminal to justice. You’ll cover around 2.5 miles (4 kilometers), with two optional pub breaks en route.
  • Solve riddles and decode clues for a murder mystery set in York in 1491
  • Explore independently, following the clues on your phone
  • No cumbersome apps to download—works on Telegram (similar to WhatsApp)
  • Leaderboard lets you work as a team or compete against friends and family
Saved to wishlist!
A trail of riddles sent to your phone; solve each clue to unlock the path,...
Sent via Telegram smartphone app. Free to download & install. Available on all App Stores.

Departure Point

Tower St, York YO1 9SA, UK

After purchase you will receive a text message with instructions of how to setup the trail. Once you're setup you'll receive a location of where to start the trail. Any questions, just get in touch!

Departure Time

Telegram App (Recommended)
11/13/2019 - 2/9/2023
Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 03:00 PM
Whatsapp (Recommended)
12/23/2019 - 2/9/2023
Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 03:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


26 Reviews
1 star

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews
We want to do this in all cities!!
, Jan 2022
We got to see streets of York that we would never have seen without the experience. The riddles were really fun to try and decipher, very cleverly thought up! We would have enjoyed having a few more pub stops if we were to do it again
Highly reccomended
, Jan 2022
It was excellent we both really enjoyed it. Its a great way to explore and absolutely reccomend it for anyone vacating here.
New sights
, Nov 2021
Getting to explore parts of the city we have't seen before and the atmosphere were amazing experiences
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Zoe, Thanks for letting us know you had a great time and enjoyed the atmospheres! Hope to see you on the trails again soon, The Secret City Team
Great fun for the whole family
, Oct 2021
We had a bit of trouble getting in contact when we couldn’t get the tour started. But once we did. Omg. My teen daughters had an absolute blast! We had to make them slow down and share with mom and dad! Great way to spend time seeing the city. Clues were so fun. We wish they had these in more cities!!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi Staci, thanks for bearing with us whilst we got you setup, usually we are almost instant! I'm so happy to hear your daughters and yourselves (once you got a go) had a great time! Thanks for taking the time to let us know! Kind regards, Tom
Excellent and Enjoyable 3 hours. Saw places and things i haven't see before.
, Oct 2021
Good communication on phone. Good clues. Disappointed that it ended where it did. Please review this maybe start from the end point. Work your way back into the centre
Good experience
, Sep 2021
Seeing sights of York that we would not have seen if we had just gone there. Good experience… the ending was slightly disappointing as we could not get the final clue due to a private function so felt slightly deflated but overall we both enjoyed it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Too intense
, Jul 2021
A bit too intense for us. The language used is that of the time it is set in. Plus you get hints but no chance of just skipping and given the answer.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Sharon, Thanks for reaching out, i'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the style the route was written in. We trying and make the trail more immersive and allow teams to get into the period that the route was set in! We have a 100% money back guarantee, please get in touch and we'll be happy to assist you. Kind regards, Tom
Birthday fun
, Jul 2021
Enjoyed seeing Al the areas of York you would never normally see,and taking on board some histoy on the way.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
HI Patricia, Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts, we'd love to know what we could do to improve or trail so it would be worth 5 stars, please get in touch and let us know. Kind regards, Tom
Family fell
, May 2021
It was a very informative adventure add a really great time doing it and you got to see York in more ways that you could imagine
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi James, We love to hear how our customers get on and we've so happy to hear you had a fantastic time. We hope to see you on the trails again in the future, Kind regards, Tom
Great customer service
, Oct 2020
Great customer service we weren't 100 percent satisfied with the walk and they have very kindly given us a refund. They really care about your experience
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Hi Judith, We're really happy to hear that we managed to help you out. All our trails are covered with a 100% money back guarantee - if you go on a trail and don't enjoy it, just let us know and you'll get a full refund! We're adding in more historical info to some of our trails, so we'd love to have you back sometime in the future. Thanks again, Tom & Team

Compare Similar Experiences

A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City
A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City


4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour

Free Cancellation




Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do