Recent Searches
Clear

The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour

|
Roma, Italy
 The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Capped at only 12 people, this small-group tour of Rome’s Colosseum includes exclusive access to the arena floor and underground dungeons, off-limits to regular visitors. You also make guided stops at the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill for a full overview of day-to-day life in ancient Rome. Skip-the-line admission at all three sites is included.
  • A VIP small-group tour of the Colosseum and arena, plus Forum and Palatine Hill
  • Shave off hours of wait time from your vacation with on-the-spot entry at each attraction
  • Listen to in-depth background on the heyday of Roman imperial rule from your guide
  • See where the gladiators once entered the arena in the Colosseum’s exclusive underground area
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Exclusive access to the Colosseum Underground
Colosseum, Roman Forum, Palatine Hill - Entry Tickets
Headsets to hear your guide clearly
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Gratuities
Food and drinks
Transportation

Departure Point

Via del Colosseo, 24, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

Meet your guide at the office in Via del Colosseo nr 24, above the second floor of the Colosseum metro stop(blue line). Just around the corner from the Caffè Roma.

Return Details

Via della Salara Vecchia, 5/6, 00186 Roma RM, Italy

This tour will end up at the Roman Forum.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Meet your guide at the office in Via del Colosseo nr 24, above the second floor of the Colosseum metro stop(blue line). Just around the corner from the Caffè Roma.
  • The tour reservations have strict timing. To join the tour you are required to be at the meeting point for check-in at least 30 minutes prior to your tour departure time.
  • If you arrive late for the meeting time, it will not be possible to join the group or reschedule, unless you pay for the activity again. As per "No Show" rules you will not be entitled to a refund.
  • Please be advised capacity regulations and security may delay the tour departure. This could also influence the smooth running of the tour especially on national holidays and events.
  • The exact timings and reservations can vary, dependant on the monument/attractions administration offices availabilities and decisions on the booking day and can be subject to last minute changes. Departure time can differ up to 20 minutes from your selected time.
  • All visitors must pass through the monument/attraction security check please allow at least 20 minutes to clear security
  • Please provide an active phone number during the booking process in order to be contacted about last minute changing.
  • Pets are not allowed inside the venue
  • Please note that from August 6th, 2021, all public museums in Italy will require all visitors above the age of 12 years old to show a valid ID and certification proving that you have either: Been vaccinated with an approved vaccine (Pfizer-BioNtech, Astrazeneca, Johnson & Johnson and Moderna) Been tested (PCR or antigen) with a negative result within the last 48hrs; Recovered from COVID-19, attested by a PCR or antigen test result, at least 15 days and no more than six months old;
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Explore Italy Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour.

Traveler Tips


  • "Highly recommended for anyone who wants a full experience of some one the most iconic ancient structures on Earth." See review
  • "Tour guide for Colosseum had a lot of knowledge to share on this fascinating tour, however did have a strong Italian accent, so needed to listen carefully." See review
  • "Tour office was hard to find and was not open at the designated time 30 minutes ahead of tour time." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
56 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 56 reviews
star-5
Informative Tour!
Rachel_N
, Sep 2021
Informative tour of the colosseum and roman forum. Norman was a knowledgeable tour guide who appeared passionate about history. The tour guide did a great job expediating security/green pass checks as well as keeping us in the shade. Overall, a great tour to better understand the context of the area.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future in Rome. Best regards! Luca
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Incredible tour with a great Guide
Allen
, Aug 2021
Absolutely amazing. Stephano was funny entertaining and very knowledgeable. Truly enjoyed the group we were with on this small tour.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future in Rome. Best regards! Luca
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Good for Coliseum bad for Forum, not exactly VIP
William_O
, Aug 2021
I spent 465 Euros 2 adults 3 kids. Coliseum is incredible by itself but tour experience can improve by letting people ask questions and slowing down especially at this price! Best place to explain Forum is from above and we were not able to enter temples in forum which is not VIP. Tour guide keeps tickets
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Mr William, thank you for leaving your comments about this tour. You have booked a Small Group tour of 12 people, but we accommodated your family of 5 with only one other couple, so even if you didn't book a private tour, you almost had one. You have done the Colosseum Underground with the Arena access that takes 2 hours, only this part. After wards you went to the Palatine hill and the Forum, for another hour. I understand you would have loved to spend hours there, unfortunately you haven't paid for a private tour that takes 5 hours, but for a group tour that takes 3 hours. Even if we only added 2 more people on the group tour, in order to have a very intimate tour, we couldn't ignore the other couple participating to the tour, as you probably imagined. Vip means vip access and quality, not private for 5 hours. We wish you have fun in Italy! Best regards! Luca
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Not what we expected
Disappointed
, Aug 2021
This was not quite what we expected even though our guide was lovely and very knowledgeable. The first issue was the difficulty in finding both the meeting location and the guide (both different from what was communicated in the confirmation email). It was blazing hot and walking up and down the stairs to find them was extremely difficult, so I had to call the office and was finally told where to go and whom to look for. Why would this not be communicated properly in advance? Once the tour started we had to wait outside for over a half-hour for another couple to join us (they were running late we were told), and though there was a lot of information presented during that half hour, it was clear that the time was being consumed simply to wait for the couple since we went right inside as soon as they arrived. Once inside the coliseum, the entire underground tour was held in Italian by another tour guid, not English by our own as she explained that the coliseum does not allow you to do your own explanations in English, while the official tour guide speaks in Italian. Given that our group of 9 was all American, no one in the group was able to follow what was being said. I think this is something that must be disclosed in advance, not during the tour itself. Quite disappointing all in all, except for the lovely tour guide.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are glad your guide was knowledgeable and lovely. Unfortunately the restrcted areas sometimes are dedicated only to the italian tours and we couldn't avoid it in order to accomodate you and your party. However the tour was english speaking even if you had the italian group at the same time with you. Looking forward to seeing you very soon in Rome. Best regards! Luca
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Magnificent Ancient Rome
Ray_Ryan
, Aug 2021
Great tour. Highly recommend- most memorable part was Palatine Hill, Colosseum and Forum. Andy our guide was knowledgeable , entertaining and courteous. I would definitely go again.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future in Rome. Best regards! Luca
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Discover Rome through the eyes of a local tour guide
Natalie_D
, Jul 2021
Stefano organized a brilliant excursion of Rome with one of his knowledgeable tour guides Emilio - we were a family of 3 and all with different ideas of what we wanted to see. By the time we joined the tour we had already seen a great deal of Rome so Emilio had to be creative. We were not disappointed he took us to places that only the local people would know - we saw things that only people who were born and raised in Rome would know - overall an outstanding overview of the unseen places in Rome. Highly recommended!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you very much Natalie for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future in Italy. Best regards! Luca
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Horrible Customer Service!
Nashonda_H
, Jul 2021
Buyer Beware! You will not see the Underground of the Colosseum! We booked the tour on Monday, July 26, 2021 for Tuesday, July 27, 2021. First, the instructions were the guide will be wearing a green polo shirt, our guide was wearing a burgundy t-shirt and had to be found by the guide of another tour operator (she was extremely nice). Another couple joined this VIP tour and we were never informed that the underground of the colosseum was not going to be included until we inquired. The original gentlemen explained the underground was closed due to the political summit. We inquired as to why that information was not published because we could have booked the other tours and only opted for this one because the underground was included. This gentleman advised that he would get the manager. The manager arrived very shortly and was extremely rude and unprofessional. He actually was was condescending and upset because we questioned this false advertisement. As I reminded him that a political summit had to be planned well in advance and at the minimum an email could have been sent. He became irate and stated he would cancel the tour. I told him that he canceled, he would have to refund my money and he started speaking in Italian to the guide. I really felt bad for her because she was merely there to do her job and was win a bad situation. She articulated such. I proceeded with the tour primarily because of the encouragement of the other couple and my husband. Needless t okay, the actual guide was very knowledgeable. The manager ( dressed in brown shorts and shirt and did not provide a name) was extremely abusive in his language and had an extremely horrible attitude. I urge you all, do not book this tour! You will come out better using a one of the other companies that will offer the same tour and probably with more professional staff. More importantly, this manager had the audacity to say they (the company) prepaid for the tickets, that was not my problem. Just give me what I paid for and what you advertised.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Dear Nashon, thank you very much for your feedback. This review has nothing to do with our Vip Underground Colosseum tour. You haven't experienced this tour, because the Colosseum itself closed down this area for 2 consecutive days, having the prime ministers of 20 countries in the G20 meeting. Your review is not only unfair but you are also inventing a lot of bad stories. First of all you have booked the Underground tour the day before, providing a telephone number that you didn't use in your trip, so no comunication was possible with you, before the tour started. Second of all, due to the G20 political meeting( that is out of our control), Colosseum had closed the Underground for the 27th and the 28th of July. When we finally met you, we offered you the only two options possible, to do a private tour or to be refunded. No option was good enough for you, you were offensive with our staff and continuing to ask explanations about this event. We asked you to choose what is better for you, but definitely that was not good enough. You left by doing the tour, showing the hand to our staff, which is not only unpolite but it tells also a lot about you. Probably the pandemic didn't help much and some people felt it more than others. Sincerely, Luca
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful
star-2
Very expensive.
Scott_S
, Jul 2021
It was difficult to find the ticket exchange location The tour guide fundamentally abandoned us during the tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Scott, thank you for your feedback. Considering the title of your review, you are free to believe it is very expensive this tour (even if all the Colosseum Underground tours are pretty much at the same price). But then you say the location was hard to find, when in reality you came one hour before the tour started, just to make sure you were at the right place. The guide didn't abandon you, as you called me to let us know that you lost the group. Then while you were on the phone with me, you catched up with the rest of the group. I believe the next time you should probably book a private tour with pick-up at your hotel and drop-off, but that's a lot more expensive. In case you are interested, we provide these tours as well. Sincerely, Luca
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Beware of meeting location! Horrible Attitude!
Alicia
, Jul 2021
I would give this 0 stars if I could. We had scheduled with local tour company Explore Italy Tours. The meeting location is very hard to find. Our email said our guide would be waiting in a green polo and there early to meet us. No mention that the meet up is second level above the metro stop. We arrived 30 minutes early and no one in sight had a green polo on. We kept asking around for our local tour and were ultimately told the meet up was upstairs in an ALLEY behind a restaurant as far away as possible from other tours. Literally every other tour had signs, were out front the metro stop and easy to find. Ultimately our guide, with no sign, wearing a grey t-shirt approached us and screamed he had been waiting (we were still 5 minutes before start time). He had sent a WhatsApp text, with no introduction or connection to the tour, asking to confirm him. We assumed it was spam and got such a bad attitude from him. I can’t imagine how awful 3 hours would have been. Also, this was supposed to be a small group of 12 and no one else was there, shows how little interest they get when the colosseum tours were sold out. That should have been our first sign. We ultimately rescheduled with Touriks with Get Your Guide and had an amazing guide and completely opposite experience. Don’t waste your money with this company.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Dear Alicia, thank you so much for taking the time in writing this feedback, even if it's totally unfair. It goes without saying that we love reading positive reinforcement of the hard work our guides do on a daily basis with all of our clients and try their best to mantain the highest level of customer satisfaction. Unfortunately you were very late for a tour that has clear indications, where and when to meet up. The indications are: "Meet your guide at Largo Gaetana Agnesi nr.3, above the second floor of the Colosseum metro stop(blue line), 30 minutes prior to the departure time" This is not on a dark alley in the back of the Colosseum, but right in front of it, where even a kid could find it, if he came on time. This is the reason why you missed this tour, claiming you were there for half hour, when in reality you just jump off the taxi 30 seconds before. Our small group of 10 people couldn't wait for you, more than the 30 minutes they already did, because the Colosseum has strict timing for the entry and they would have missed the tour. I wish you came on time so you could experience this amazing tour, like the rest of the group. Sincerely, Luca
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful
star-2
Very long tour…great information- but Long day
Jared_G
, Jul 2021
So for starters if you book this make sure that you don’t have anything else planned for the day- my original booking was for a 11:00 tour, the operator calls and moves it to 13:00 and also changed the meeting location. Which was annoying. It’s not as VIP/Exclusive as it claims- we started with 3 of us in our group, then later joined up with about 6-7 other individuals. Again don’t plan anything else the day of if you are going to do this- the tour said it lasts approx 3 hours…it ended up being close to 4.5hours long. The Guide was nice, just long-winded- we kept getting “pushed” along by other groups to keep moving….I will say- all great information. However it definitely needs to be condensed. Mix in the heat and that length of time- everyone was exhausted and just wanted to find the exit.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is probably the heat that bothered you the most, as our staff was so nice to you. We were all dedicated to you, solo traveler, as if you were on a private tour. We have moved the tour from 11:00 to 13:00 when we could have simply canceled it as most companies do. The group you were part of, was with only 10 people total, as advertised, but only 3 of them did the full tour, 7 of which did only the 2 hours of the Colosseum Underground. It is strange how the families and the couples in the group were all happy, but you weren't. Best regards! Luca
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour
The VIP Colosseum Underground & Ancient Rome Small Group Tour

star-456

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.76

star-4.5259

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$76.65

star-596

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$51.38

star-4.5370

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$40.60

star-4.564

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.45

star-569

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.63

star-5121

2 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$41.92

star-562

3 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$83.83

star-512

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$65.87

Explore Similar Things to Do