Recent Searches
Clear

OBX Ghost Tours

|
Manteo, United States
OBX Ghost Tours

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon1 hour 15 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Uncover the spooky history of the Outer Banks as you embark on a walking tour around downtown Manteo. Listen to tales about the Lost Colony and Blackbeard as you walk around stopping at landmarks including the Pioneer Theatre and Roanoke Lighthouse. Your guide also uses an EMF detector to search for spirits just like they do on paranormal TV shows.
  • Learn about one of the most haunted beaches in the US
  • A central meeting point makes for an easy start
  • Get an in-depth tour of downtown Manteo on foot
  • Listen to ghostly tales while you explore the area
Saved to wishlist!
Use of EMF detectors
Touristic Guide

Departure Point

105 Sir Walter Raleigh St, Manteo, NC 27954, USA

We meet in front of Downtown Books Store.

Departure Time

7:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 120 travelers
  • OPERATED BY OBX Ghost Tours
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
50 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews
star-4
Enjoyable.
dean_j
, Oct 2021
It was a nice night out with my wife. Full of history and legend causing me to check out some of the local sights, but it was a bit light on ghost. We enjoyed it anyways.
star-4
Hearing the ghost stories...
Tami_P
, Oct 2021
Hearing the ghost stories of the OBX was very interesting. The one that I enjoyed the most was the one of Black Beards demise. Did not however get to see any ghost nor was I able to capture any on film.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
More history than ghostly
Kathy_T
, Oct 2021
Good tour guide- interesting and knowledgeable- slightly disappointed that we weren’t at location of many of the stories that were told
star-1
Did not live up to expectations
Luis_M
, Sep 2021
A ghost tour that had no stories of ghosts where we walked. All the places where there could’ve been ghosts were miles away. The “ghost reader” was worthless. A complete waste of money
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. We do include on site stories such as the Pioneer Theater and the Roanoke Island Inn but we want to make sure to let you know of other areas to check out. The Outer Banks is full of a lot of history and lore but unfortunately those aren’t just in the one mile area where our tour takes place. We also want to be sure to share real stories and not just create fake ones for the sake of walking distance. All of our stories have a history basis and you can see many reports of the stories we share all over the internet. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your Outer Banks vacation.
star-3
History of Outer banks.
Amy_B
, Sep 2021
It was a great history lesson but we didn't do much exploring for ghost. I feel we learned a lot. I love that our guide was knowledgeable and didn't "fake" a paranormal expieriance.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hello Amy, Thank you for your review. We're glad you felt like you learned something and understand that we are not out to fake an experience. Things don't ALWAYS go bump in the night consistently so it makes it that much more exciting when they do. We hope you enjoyed your trip to the Outer Banks!
star-5
Pen was great! Great night!
Brianne_A
, Aug 2021
Pen was great! We enjoyed our tour and all the stories were so detailed. Walking around the town really added to the experience.
star-1
I couldn’t wait for it to end.
Brett_S
, Aug 2021
Good for kids under 10. You walk in a big circle with an EMF reader and she tells you stories. You can find everything they talk about in Charles Whedbees Legends of the Outer Banks. The best part of the tour was when it ended.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us. Yes we tell local legends and lore, you do cover about a mile in a circle so our guests end up in the same place we started to get to their vehicles, and you do have the chance to use an EMF detector. We would love to hear your feedback of what you expected and how we could improve. Feel free to email us at OBXGhostTours@gmail.com
star-5
Fascinating!
Jane_B
, Jul 2021
Laura was an excellent guide! We enjoyed hearing the ghost stories, and learning about local history! Her love for her community shined through in every word. My 9 year old daughter said “I didn’t want her to stop talking. She was the best storyteller.”
star-2
More of a History Tour
Jennifer_P
, Jul 2021
Our guide was very nice and was motivated to present. The problem was, it’s not really a ghost tour at all. It should really be called a history tour with a few ghost tales. We were very disappointed with the content. People started dropping off as the tour went on.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. Our ghost tours are based off of history as the Outer Banks’ has an amazing plethora of history including the Lost Colony, the death of Blackbeard, and the Flaming Ship of Ocracoke which we include on our tour. Our tour is based off of similar ghost tour experiences in other markets such as Williamsburg, Charleston, and Saint Augustine. On our website we label the tour “Be entertained as our enthusiastic guides lead you through downtown Manteo telling the spooky stories that make The Outer Banks one of the most haunted beaches in America! You even get to use a real ghost detector!” We are primarily a haunted history tour and are not a paranormal investigation or ghost hunt. We do tell history and you do have the chance to use an EMF detector. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us but I do hope you enjoy the rest of your time on the Outer Banks!
star-1
Not a ghost tour!
Maria_K
, Jul 2021
Waste of money, Not really a ghost/ hunted tour! The tour guide talked about alot of personal experiences way to much, and walked us around to places we had already seen on our own. No EMF readers were even brought out while on the tour, so we left early.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. We hear from guests that sometimes we tell too much history and so we have allowed guides to mention their personal experiences. As far as the EMF detector I am sorry to hear that you were not shown one. Our guides are trained to bring an EMF detector out at the very beginning of the tour and allow guests to take turns using it. We will be making sure to remind them this is part of the experience and should be done. We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation on the Outer Banks of North Carolina!

Explore Similar Things to Do