Recent Searches
Clear

Oslo Nature Walks: Island hopping

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Oslo kommune, Norway
Oslo Nature Walks: Island hopping
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Travel through the Oslo fjord's islands on foot during this half-day nature walk. Travel on local ferries and explore local villages, sea cliffs, historic sites, and forests on three different islands. Stop for a picnic on a hidden beach (bring your own lunch or purchase along the way); be sure to bring a swimsuit and towel.
  • Explore the Oslo fjord's islands on foot
  • Visit three different islands
  • Picnic on a hidden beach with time for swimming
  • Visit an ancient abbey, local villages, forests, and sea cliffs
Saved to wishlist!
Guided tour
Public transportation ticket for use on the ferries (can also be used after the tour)
Lunch (picnic lunch stop during the tour, so participants can either bring their own lunch or purchase at a local food market)
Rådhusbrygge 4 , Rådhusbrygge 4, 0160 Oslo, Norway

Near the departure point for the public ferry boats, at an orange tower just before the dock. Your guide will have a Viking Biking & Hiking sign.

12:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for child under 10 years of age
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Viking Biking & Hiking
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Oslo Nature Walks: Island hopping?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Oslo Nature Walks: Island hopping.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Oslo Nature Walks: Island hopping?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Oslo Nature Walks: Island hopping.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
67 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 67 reviews
star-5
Fun afternoon tour in Oslo
ecsun88
, Aug 2022
We had a nice time island hopping around Oslo with our guide Patrick. He was very personable and informative. It was a nice break from the normal city tour. The quick dip in the dock was a lot of fun - the kids are still raving about it!! Overall a fun and memorable tour!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you for the 5-star review and I will make sure Patrick knows you enjoyed his tour. We love when the customers join for a swim and it is always one of the most unforgettable parts of the trip! Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Beautiful Views and walks
Lisa_F
, Aug 2022
This was a fun and gorgeous walk. Our guide Josh was excellent who brought the islands of Oslo to life. He had tons of in-depth knowledge of the area and really shared so much great history and stories about the area. This is a great way to spend half a day in Oslo. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you Lisa for the wonderful review you and I will be seeing Josh in just a couple of hours so I will make sure to pass along your kind words to him :-)
star-4
Excellent trip, but short lunch break
Emily_A
, Aug 2022
We enjoyed this trip - we visited 3 Islands and we were lucky that the weather held off long enough to complete the trip! Our guide, Becca was great - very friendly and knowledgeable and she would get a 5 star rating! The islands were beautiful - be prepared to climb some small hills to the viewpoints. We took lunch with us but the 30 minute times lot even squeezed us - it would be better to have 45 minutes minimum as some others on the trip bought food on the island so they had even less time to eat (hence the 4 star rating). It was a beautiful spot to eat lunch so its a shame it was a little short - but otherwise it was an excellent experience and well worth doing!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you Emily for the nice review. We are glad you had a 5-star guide and the islands were beautiful. It is the first time we have heard in 6 years of running the tour that the lunch break is too short. We appreciate the feedback. Curtis Rojak
star-5
Very nice excursion
James_R
, Jul 2022
Patrick was an excellent guide. The tour was informative, fun and full of good exercise. Highly recommended!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you James for the nice review and I have already let Patrick know how much you enjoyed his tour! Best regards, Curtis Rojak
star-4
Oslo island hopping
Shibsankar_S
, Jul 2022
Fantastic. Guide was good. Thanks to the team. If lunch was provided by the team, it would be more enjyable. Regards
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for the nice review and glad you thought the tour was "fantastic". We do stop along the way at a local shop where there is a wide variety of food -- some customers come with their own lunches, others prefer to buy it there while some just want a quick drink or ice cream. If we provided the food, it would be more expensive and a less flexbile solution so over the past 6 years of doing this tour, the feedback from the customers is that the current approach is the best. Thanks anyway for your feedback and if you are ever back in town and want a more custom hiking tour with food stops included, let us know and we can arrange a private tour instead. Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Excellent tour
Roisin_C
, Jul 2022
Tour was really really great. Well organised and all the activities were really fun and interesting. The guide Haakon pitched the tour so well and got on with absolutely everybody in the group taking time to talk to every single person including the children on the tour. Recommend closed toe shoes as at some points the ground wss quite uneven and gravelly. Got back to Oslo at 4pm which left time for a museum at the end too. Definitely worth it!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for the great review, and I couldn't agree more that Håkon is a great guide. He is a perfect mix of easy-going, interesting, fun and genuine so all of his tours seem to get 5-star reviews. I will make sure he sees your kind words. Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Great and quick way to see the islands.
Mindy_S
, Jul 2022
Beautiful islands. They were easy and family friendly hikes. Our guide was wonderful and very helpful with details about the city.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Mindy, Thank you for the nice review and we are glad you enjoyed our Island Hopping tour. We love guiding it too -- it is a nice day at the office for our guides :-) Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Great tour, loved the island hopping
Ingrid_D
, Jun 2022
Becca did a wonderful job despite some rain. She is funny, knowledgeable & very helpful with advice. We enjoyed learning about the history & culture of the 3 different islands. Would highly recommend.
star-5
Island hopping
Kathleen_F
, Jun 2022
Our guide gave us interesting history tidbits. The walk was easy with just a few inclines. The island hopping was supposed to be three islands but the ferry was understaffed so we could only do two. At first we were disappointed but it actually gave us more time at the beach area. It really comes down to the guide and we lucked out.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Kathleen. Thanks for the nice review, and for being so flexible with a boat schedule that has been unreliable this summer due to staffing shortages on the ferries. It has never been a problem in previous years and we apprecaite our customers' understanding. Getting a good Viking Biking & Hiking guide is just the cure for an uncertain boat schedule :-) Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Veldig fint!
Mark_W
, Jun 2022
Although you were still in the capital of Norway, these islands gave you the chance to escape the crowds. It was awesome; beautiful nature, lot of history, talk with the locals, fantastic guide. Would recommend this trip to anyone.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks Mark for the great review. You hit the nail on the head: right in the capital and yet our islands make you feel miles away on a real holiday escape. It is one of the things we love most about Oslo!
star-5
Scenic and informative tour
Monique_S
, Jun 2022
This tour was very scenic and informative. The top of the islands had lovely views of the fjord. The guides were very friendly with excellent knowledge of the area/history. I would recommend to anyone visiting Oslo.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Monique. Thank you for the 5-star review and we appreciate the recommendation to other travelers :-) Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Excellent tour
David_T
, Jun 2022
Patrick and Martin were excellent guides. Very well-informed and humorous. Great way of to see some beautiful parts of Oslo.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks David for the nice review. Patrick and Martin will certainly appreciate your kind words -- they are a funny duo with lots of good jokes and always in a good mood! Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Wonderful tour
Maxim_D
, Jun 2022
Guides were excellent - really accommodating - tour itself was excellent. Really beautiful & informative.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Maxim. We appreciate the 5-star review and are glad you enjoyed the guides and the tour itself. Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Oslo Nature Walks: Island hopping
Christine_Z
, Aug 2019
Curtis, the owner of the business, was our guide on this hike, and he shared a wealth of information about each island, and made the whole tour very interesting. He is bi-lingual so that helped with the diverse group we had. Everyone was relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. I highly recommend this.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thank you for the nice review and I am glad you found the tour interesting. It is always fun for me when I get to use English, Norwegian and French in one tour! And I do remember that group, and it was a relaxed and laid-back atmosphere which fits the moods of the islands themselves. Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Beautiful location and what to see it
Carolyn_B
, Jul 2019
Our trip was very relaxing but informative. Really lovely way to see the islands and get a taste before returning to explore some more.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thank you for the nice review and we agree with your description of the tour as both relaxing and informative. We often say it is our most laid-back tour, which is in line with Norway as a country. It is so nice to guide! Best regards, Curtis
star-5
Beautiful walk
Elena_G
, Jun 2019
Great nature walk experience. Guides were informative and super friendly they made the group feel immediately at ease. Great for solo travellers
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Step outside the city
Bryan_S
, Sep 2018
This was a nice way to spend the afternoon. We met at the shop and then walked over to the ferry. From there we got on the ferry and went to three different islands. You could easily do the tour on your own by purchasing a ferry ticket and going between the islands yourself. However, doing it with the tour does give you the advantage of hearing about the history of the islands and learning about the Norwegian way of life. Some tips for you:You will need a ferry ticket. This can be purchased at the tour shop, which is nice. But they almost forgot to ask us if we needed one and we wouldn’t have known to buy one. So make sure to ask about that. Bring a lunch. The tour description says there are shops where you can purchase food. On the island where we were given time to eat, there was a convenient store with a very minimal selection of food as it was end of season. If you just bring a snack to tide you over, there are cafes on the other two islands where you can eat. We would have liked to have more time to explore each of the islands. The tour limited our time to walk around in our own. However, your ferry ticket is good for the whole day, so after the tour ends, you can go back to any of the islands and explore on your own.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful trip! Guides were nice...
Kay W
, Jul 2018
Wonderful trip! Guides were nice. Easy to get around. And the history was interesting. It was a fun and unique thing to do in Oslo.
star-5
Great tour led by professional guides
Asya_S
, Jul 2018
I highly recommend booking this tour as you get to see beautiful islands and nature. The guides are super friendly and professional.
star-5
We spent a wonderful day seeing a...
Sherry H
, Jan 2018
We spent a wonderful day seeing a part of Oslo that most tourists do not see. The highlight for me was the ruins of the monastery. The trip was made great by our outstanding guide, He took us on walks through the islands on paths that were not easily found. We enjoyed a picnic beside the water. We learned a lot about the culture of the people of Oslo. I will sign up to repeat this tour if I get back to Oslo!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Oslo Nature Walks: Island hopping
Likely to Sell Out
Oslo Nature Walks: Island hopping

star-567

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.62

star-521

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.79

star-58

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$100.28

star-56

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$232.61

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$253.88

star-52

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$189.35

star-51

15 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$949.03

star-00

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$398.02
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations