Recent Searches
Clear

Oslo Discovery Tour

star-4.561 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Oslo kommune, Norway
Oslo Discovery Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Perfect for first-time visitors and those with limited time, this comprehensive coach tour of Oslo takes you to the city's most important attractions, including Vigeland sculpture park and Holmekollen ski jump, as well as the Fram and Folk Museum.
  • Comprehensive tour of Oslo: Save time by seeing everything in one trip
  • Includes admission to the Folk Museum
  • Get insights into local culture and history from your guide
  • Great choice for first-time visitors to Oslo
Saved to wishlist!
Certified English-speaking guide, modern and comfortable coach.
Holmenkollen Ski Jump (outside view)
Guided walking tour through Vigeland Sculpture Park.
Entrance ticket to the Fram Museum
Entrance ticket to The Norwegian Folk Museum.
Audioguide in other languages available only on the coach! Guiding is in English in the museums.
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Haakon VIIs gate 1 , Haakon VIIs gate 1, 0161 Oslo, Norway

The meeting / starting point is the bus stop located on Haakon VIIs street 1, next to the toy store "Sprell". Look for a white coach reading "H.M.K. Class - Oslo Sightseeing" on the side. Please arrive at least 15 minutes before departure.

10:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Lunch is not included. We recommend bringing a packed lunch.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Not recommended for travelers with mobility challenges. A moderate amount of walking, steps and uneven terrain are involved.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY H. M. K.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Oslo Discovery Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Oslo Discovery Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Oslo Discovery Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Oslo Discovery Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Oslo Discovery Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Oslo Discovery Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Be prepared for it to be chilly on the water." See review
  • "May I suggest, if available, ear buds that fit small children and/or for those who have trouble keeping the large ones from falling out of one’s ears." See review
  • "We took a mini-cruise over from Copenhagen, so only had about a 6 hour window in Oslo." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
61 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews
star-5
Great Tour!!
Lauren_J
, Jul 2022
Our guide, Elena, was great! Very knowledgeable with a lot of facts, history and anecdotes. The selection of sights to visit was wonderful. We felt we had gotten to know Oslo much better. Would highly recommend!
star-4
Great way to see Oslo
Colleen_W
, Jul 2022
Good view and information both of the city and of some key sights. Tour leader was informative but needed to speak more loudly at attractions. Pre-booking info should include that some of the walking is strenuous. Thete is no hint that it could be access-restricted for those with mobility challenges.
star-5
Great Way to Experience Oslo
Kathleen_V
, Jun 2022
This was a very affordable and enjoyable way to experience Oslo. I wish we had gotten our tour guide's name because she was excellent. She provided so much in-depth information, far above the usual "canned" presentation that is typical of many tour guides. She brought everything to life and was lively and energetic. We particularly enjoyed our walk through the Vigeland Sculpture Park. We also enjoyed seeing the Holmekollen ski jump. We were glad for the short time at the Fram Museum (even though we could have easily spent a lot ore time there). And the outdoor Folk Museum was also interesting. A lot was packed into this 5.5 hour tour and I would highly recommend it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent tour in Oslo
Anne_T
, Jun 2022
Excellent tour and would highly recommend this. Our guide Margaret is very knowledgeable and gives us history of places we visited.
star-5
Oslo
David_F
, May 2022
Great tour of Oslo. You get to see many different landmarks. I recommend this tour to all people who would like to see Oslo in a day
star-5
Top Quality View of Oslo
Paul_R
, May 2022
With only one day in Oslo, the Discovery Tour was a perfect opportunity to see and learn so much about the city and history. Our guide was so knowledgeable, friendly, and interesting for our intergenerational threesome. I learned so many new things even though I’ve visited Oslo several times before.
star-5
Sad to have missed this great tour.
David_S
, May 2022
Unfortunately, due to a last minute cancellation of our Aer Lingus flight from Orlando, we arrived late on the 15th instead of the 14th, too late to make the tour. We contacted the tour company & they okayed cancellation, but asked me to relay that to Viator for a refund. Our friends, who arrived on the 14th, took the tour and raved about it as the best they have every taken anywhere. They were especially happy with the tour guide. Please advise about a refund.
star-2
Not any better than a hop on-hop off bus tour
A_N
, Mar 2020
There is zero communication from the tour company after the tour is booked. You are just expected to obtain all the details yourself and show up at the pickup spot. That's not a big deal as HMK is the only company that offers the tour and almost every hotel knows where they start the tour. The tour itself was average. The bus audio was broken so we couldn't hear the live English guide. The guide himself, Richard, was a diva. He was strongly opinionated and even shamed a tourist as she was standing a bit near him. I feel having a good and friendly guide is important and makes a touring experience wonderful. Also you share this tour with the Panaroma tour group so the bus just drives you through the Parliament, Royal Palace and the theater. I am glad we had an additional day to go explore these places on our own.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for joining our tour and for taking the time to send us your feedback! First of all, regarding the communication with our company, you haven’t booked the tour directly from HMK. You’ve purchased the tickets on Viator, however absolutely all the information and details about the tour (meeting time, departure point, etc.) are included on your Viator ticket. In addition, indeed all the hotels know HMK Sightseeing and can provide information to the tourists about our tours. But if you had additional questions and would have gotten in touch with us directly, either by phone or e-mail, I can assure you we would have answered your (our contact details are also displayed on your Viator ticket). We're disappointed you considered our tour average, and not any better than a Hop-On Hop-Off bus tour, since our tour is not even designed as a hop-on/off bus tour. On this tour we’ve included some of the best attractions in Oslo, a certified Oslo guide who accompanies the group throughout the tour, a modern and comfortable coach, not an open-top bus, and the entrance fees to the museums we visit are also included. With this tour we aim to provide a comprehensive and solid tour for all the tourists who have a limited amount of time in Oslo, or a good orientation tour for those who would like to explore more on their own afterwards. It’s a 5-hour tour and we’ve allocated a reasonable amount of time at each location. Regarding the route in the city centre, it is a panoramic sightseeing by coach along the main landmarks. Oslo city centre is very compact and very easy to be explored on foot, and many streets are pedestrian, therefore we don’t have stops there. But on our tours, at least one can see the city centre from the coach, and if one wants to visit some of the attractions in the centre, it’s possible to do that easily after the tour. (The Royal Palace can’t even be visited most of the year, so we just drive by.) In addition, we’ve included the more distant attractions, where the Hop-Onn Hop-Off buses don’t even go (for ex. Holmenkollen), a guided walking tour in Vigeland Park, and two of the most popular museums (The Fram Museum and the Viking Ship Museum). Regarding the audio system on the coach, it does work and if you couldn’t hear the guide, that means your headphones weren’t properly connected. But have you told the guide right then that you couldn’t hear him? They would have helped to either connect your earphones correctly or change them. We also work with some of the best certified Oslo guides, and most of the reviews praise the guides on these tours. So we’re very surprised by your comments about the guide this time, but please be assured we’ll take this further with the guide and We hold ourselves to a high standard, and we aim to provide the best sightseeing experience in Oslo, so it’s unfortunate your tour with us was less than ideal this time! But we hope for the chance to host you on another occasion so we can share a more positive experience with you. With best regards, HMK Sightseeing
star-5
4 great attractions in one 5 hour trip
Arthur_C
, Mar 2020
Great value for money experience. We had a very good driver with an entertaining and knowledgeable guide,giving a live commentary throughout and accompanying the group though each of the attractions.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for joining our tour and for taking the time to share your excellent feedback! We're delighted to hear you had such a great trip with us! All the best and welcome back another time!
star-4
Best of the best
Lloyd_F
, Feb 2020
Very good tour all the sites were the best with the Fram as the outstanding one. The only negative was bus was too hot for us, although we are in a minority by liking it cold
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for joining our tour and for taking your time to send us your feedback! We're happy to hear the tour was very good and it included the best of the best. The temperature on the bus can be adjusted and we'll do our best to set it according to the guests wishes. All the best and welcome back to Oslo another time! HMK Sightseeing
star-5
Excellent
Iva
, Feb 2020
The guide was very knowledgeable. She explained everything efficiently. She was very polite and answered all our questions.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for joining our sightseeing and for your excellent review! We're very happy you liked our guide too! All the best and welcome back another time, HMK Sightseeing
star-5
A great way to learn, and enjoy Oslo
Richard_O
, Jan 2020
An excellent way to start a visit to Norway... a great guide talking us through key points about Oslo ( and Norway’s history) as we’re driven past the sights, a guided walk through the sculpture gardens, then an outline of 2 museums before being left to browse the amazing Fram and the unique Viking ship museums.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for joining our tour and for your great feedback! We're very happy it was an excellent start to your tour in Norway. All the best and welcome back another time!
star-5
Wonderful day tour of Oslo
John_N
, Jan 2020
Very knowledgeable guide who kept the wandering tourist on track. Very courteous bus driver and spectacular visits especially Vigeland Park. May I suggest, if available, ear buds that fit small children and/or for those who have trouble keeping the large ones from falling out of one’s ears.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for joining our tour and for your excellent feedback. We're very happy to hear you had a wonderful tour with us in Oslo, and we'll do our best materialize you suggestion regarding the ear buds. All the best and welcome back on another occasion!
star-5
Half day of Oslo goodness!
Kylie_J
, Jan 2020
This tour is perfect for those with only a small amount of time in Oslo. Helene the guide had a great mix of information and humour and was not than happy to share her knowledge. The tour covered most of the things i was after in Oslo with out feeling rushed and left time for me to see thr rest! Definately recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for joining our tour and for your great review! We're thrilled to hear the tour was perfect and that you liked our guide. All the best and welcome back another time!
star-5
Brilliant
MariaManuela_T
, Dec 2019
Both the guide and the driver were five stars. Very good organization of the time, could visit a lot of museums, Gustav Vigeland’s Sculptures Park and Holmenkollen. A very pleasant sightseeing that I strongly recommend if you want to know some landmarks of the beautiful city of Oslo.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for joining our tour, and we're delighted to read that both the guide and the driver were 5 stars and the tour was brilliant! Thank you for your 5-star review and for strongly recommending us, and welcome back another time!
star-5
Discovery tour
Pjohal316
, Dec 2019
Excellent guide, tour takes in key sites. Easy to find meeting point & tme flew with the tour. Time to roam in park & at museum
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Oslo bus tour
Siva_N
, Dec 2019
Tour hit the highlights . A must do tour for first timers with limited time to see the city. Once you hv the lay of the land then you can revisit the sites in detail
star-5
A wonderful introduction to Oslo
Oldc50
, Dec 2019
A great tour to get to know Oslo from the ski jump to the Viking ships museum, Fram and the hauntingly fascinating Vigeland park. The English speaking guide was lovely equally regaling us with the history of Oslo and Norway as well as describing the life of the Norwegian people in last and present times. Well worth it.
star-5
Great tour around the city!
Shelby8143
, Nov 2019
We had only a few days in Oslo and was able to get booked on this tour. Guide had a lot of knowledge about the city. I would highly recommend.
star-5
Despite very poor weather guide made tour very interesting and worthwhile.
Peter C
, Nov 2019
A wet day in the city and very foggy in the hills. Guide overcame many difficulties and made sure all members in the tour had an informative and worthwhile tour. I don't think other guides would have persisted in such conditions. A highly recommended tour. Thank you.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Oslo Discovery Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Oslo Discovery Tour

star-4.561

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$72.91

star-451

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$45.03

star-00

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$63.11

star-4.54

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$192.66

star-54

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$52.54

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$192.99

star-533

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$107.21
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations