Recent Searches
Clear

Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers

star-4.5281 Reviews
|
Kahului, United States
Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Discover one of America's most famous road trips on this small-group adventure from Lahaina. Travel along the Road to Hana, filled with curves and 1-lane bridges, with an experienced driver. Stop at several locations along the way including Ho'okipa Park, Huelo, Hanawi Falls, Hana Bay, Haleakala Volcano, and many more, to see lush landscapes and ocean views.
  • Learn about Hawaiian history, heritage, and culture
  • Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and snacks included
  • Hassle-free transfers from your accommodation
  • A small group means more attention from your guide
Saved to wishlist!
Breakfast
Lunch
Snacks
Bottled water
Air-conditioned vehicle
All Fees and Taxes
Hotel pickup and drop off
Professional Guide
Gratuity is not included. We can accept Venmo payments for the drivers.
Alcoholic Beverages
No luggage of large bags. All bags must fit under seat.
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Kahului , Kahului, HI, USA

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

7:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.• Pickup is available from all hotels and most condos. If your condo is not listed, please put in the name and/or address. • AirBnBs, BnBs, private residences, and locations east of Kahului may require a meeting point. • Pick up can vary from 6:50a (the earliest) to 8:10a. • Mahalo Tours will message you through this site to confirm pick up time and location. • Have your cell phone on and with you so the driver can call if there is an issue. • We will take your temperature at pick up. Anyone with a temperature over 100 degrees will be denied boarding. • Make sure to have a face mask ready to wear. • Please be ready for pickup on time — your driver cannot wait for longer than 10 minutes.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Vehicles used on the road to Hana are not wheelchair accessible. Participants must be ambulatory.. No walkers, wheelchairs and/or scooters, of any kind, are permitted.
  • Hawaii state law requires children under 8 yrs old to use a car seat or booster seat in all vehicles. NOTE: not provided, PASSENGERS TO PROVIDE
  • Anyone with heart, back problems, or other serious medical conditions cannot participate in the tour. Oxygen tanks, or generators are not permitted.
  • Special needs requests (except lunch) must be called in to the local supplier at least 1 week prior to tour date. All special needs requests are handled and accommodated on a situational basis.
  • Tour schedule/stops are subject to change due to weather, traffic, park closures, road closures, timing and or other various unforeseen circumstances.
  • No luggage of large bags. All bags must fit under seat.
  • Absolutely no alcohol or drugs onboard. No drinking alcohol or doing drugs while on tour.
  • Maximum weight for passenger is 350 lbs. (158 kg).
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Mahalo Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers ?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers ?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers ?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers ?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
281 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 281 reviews
star-5
Worth it!
Julia_D
, Aug 2022
Great guide! It was a long day but so worth it! Incredible journey that shows the beauty of the island and the knowledge of the guides.
star-1
Hana tour is beautiful....
chand
, Aug 2022
Hana tour is beautiful. That being said the tour itiniery did not match at all to the tour. I am so disappointed
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Aloha Chad, I’m sorry you didn’t not enjoy your Hana tour, as a regular procedure we did check our GPS and your driver made all the listed authorized stops. I’m sorry that there was a misunderstanding, I believe your confused with the (Pass By) as they are not stops. We are very proud that we make more stops than any other company. Mahalo
star-5
This was a fabulous day....
Brandon_L
, Aug 2022
This was a fabulous day. It was so nice being on a non crowded tour. And not having to drive was a huge benefit as well. Rob, our guide was very knowledgeable and made numerous stops for us. Thank you!!
star-5
Must take this trip!
Julie_D
, Aug 2022
Our tour guide Louie was great! Made the trip fun and absolutely memorable. Was great seeing all the sea turtles, playing in the falls, being in the lava tube, wonderful hui hui chicken lunch, and a stop at Virginia's for take home things. Much love to Louie from Julie and Jayden!
star-4
Wonderful Hana trip
Allen_S
, Jul 2022
We had a very nice time in the road to Hana. Yes the roads were rough at times, yes they are winding and one lane bridges, but that’s the rain forest for you. Views, swimming at the black sand beaches, water falls and nature was wonderful. Had a nice lunch and Robert was a very good guide. We had 7 total in our group which was perfect. Only downside was the length of the trip 11-1/2 hours driving. But we enjoyed our time.
star-5
Take this trip! You won’t be sorry.
Jennifer_B
, Jul 2022
This day trip will surely be one of the most memorable of our week in Maui! Louis, our guide, was wonderful - funny and knowledgeable with a true love and respect for the land and the Hawaiian people. His stories are educational and very entertaining. He picked us up at our resort on time (7am) and fed us at almost every stop it seemed: fresh breads and fruit, Maui chips, an incredible lunch (choice of Huli Huli chicken (get this!), pulled pork/cabbage, pork ribs all w rice), bottled water, soda/juice. We stopped at many incredible sites. Some were just passing by to get a look, and many we stayed for 30 mins-an hour. We swam in waterfalls and hiked the black sand beach, bought banana bread at the best place on the island, had great views of Mt Haleakala, stunning cliffs and lush rainforests. We even saw a stunning rainbow over the ocean after a brief, but refreshing shower! Yes, the 2nd partof the drive after leaving Hana was very bumpy and a little scary so Dramamine or ginger candy might be smart to bring along! There are several stops where you will have the chance to buy food and handmade items from the Hawaiian people which I highly recommend. Everyone you meet is kind and helpful. Several bathroom breaks along the way. Can’t recommend this small group trip enough.
star-4
Beautiful scenery.
Gilberto_E
, Jul 2022
The road to Hana is so beautiful in its entirety but I would say that the Black Sand Beach was the best! Loui the driver was a very nice guy who kept us entertained throughout the whole trip
star-5
Awsome
Jacob_P
, Jul 2022
Was an amazing trip the sites are to die for. The only down fall is the trip is very long an needed to dramanine got car sick. The only on thing thing is take an extra pair of clothes as well but other then that our beat part was the black sand beach warm water an had a blast.
star-5
Make sure you take some...
Lacy_V
, Jul 2022
Make sure you take some dramamine if you get any sort of motion sickness or altitude sickness! It saved me on this trip and I was able to fully enjoy my experience and the incredible views! A must-do for everyone visiting Maui
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
The best! Don't miss it!
Sharon_A
, Jul 2022
The guide was experienced and gave excellent information. He stopped at interesting sites. The lunch was amazing g.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Amazing tour
Sheryl_D
, Jul 2022
So glad I took this tour instead of driving this road. It's nicknamed divorce highway for a reason. It's best to have a local drive this curvy and bumpy road. The guide was very experienced and kept us entertained all day long
star-2
Wreckless Driver
Pamela_G
, Jul 2022
Although the views were beautiful and our driver was knowledgeable, our trip was a nightmare. Our driver, Taylor was very wreck-less. He was speeding, passing rows of cars, honking his horn for the majority of the trip and even got in an accident. We all expressed our concerns but he was unphased. Because of this, we were all shook up and could not enjoy the experience.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Aloha I would like to address your concerns, yes we do pass the rental cars that are illegally blocking the road, driving below the speed limit and stopping on the road to take pictures, if we didn’t safely pass them we would miss most of the stops and make the 10 to 13 hour tour even that much longer. . We honk our horn to let them know as we do not want to get into an accident. In reference to the accident you mentioned since you were in the back and couldn’t see we spoke to the other guests who witnessed the incident. The rental Jeep who hit our bus on the side did not yield (posted sign) excessive speed and couldn’t possibly fit between us and the guardrail. They continue speeding and didn’t stop even after the driver stopped and retrieved the all the side mounding ripped off the bus laying on the ground. We did check the onboard bus camera, we provided the video to MPD and filed a hit and run report. Taylor has years of experience driving this tour and the other guests onboard had a different experience. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Great potential but driver didn't live up to expectations
NancyL
, Jul 2022
The road to Hana is a must see. The potential is there for a great tour. However, our driver was a bit of a loose cannon and a personal story teller. He jumped from the waterfall and told inappropriate stories of fights. He shared some of the info on sites bur after lunch was silent on everything we passed. Other drivers seemed much more engaged and informed and shared pertinent knowledge.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
No Mahalo!
Jean_K
, Jul 2022
This was the ENTIRE road to Hana and then around the island, with no apparent rhyme or reason! We heard nothing about history, heard how tired our young driver was, and wondered if the van had any shocks at all! The music was loud and weird, and even after we asked the driver to speak up, he never really did (except to holler greetings to the other drivers). Be aware that “breakfast” is a 3 x 3 piece of cake, no drink, and water was only offered once….1 bottle at lunch. After the owner switched with our driver, he held his cell phone with one hand to show us pictures and drove with the other. We apologized to our friends for telling them the Road to Hana had been such a good experience before, and using a day of their vacation on this marathon. We all agreed this was something we might laugh about in the future! I will think twice about using Viator to book again.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Traveling around the...
Monica_W
, Jul 2022
Traveling around the entire island is an unique experience. Views are for days, natural and cultural experiences are beyond unique.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
We treated ourselves to...
Todd_F
, Jul 2022
We treated ourselves to this for our honeymoon as it was one of the must do things. You get to see bamboo forests, beautiful beaches, swim in a waterfall and see amazing views. So glad we booked a small group tour (aloha tours) than any of the bigger commercial companies or trying to drive it ourselves for many reasons. First, driving the road is no joke, it is narrow. Save your nerves ,plus the person who would have driven gets to see things too. It was also great that the van picks you up almost door to door and the small group setting makes it more intimate. Finally, our tour guide Auntie Jamie was the best! She grew up on the island so she was very knowledgeable and knew all the best spots! If there is a way to ask specifically for her I would do it. She takes great care of her “family” for the day, treats you to the best snacks and lunch and keeps you smiling. We loved learning facts and historical tidbits as well. She is amazing. Thank you Jamie for one of the most memorable days of our honeymoon.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Lunch was disappointing
Katrina_A
, Jul 2022
Louis our tour driver was fun. The lunch was disappointing. Consider giving passengers the option of having a lunch or no lunch with the no lunch option being cheaper. Also consider stopping at a location that has a few restaurants and food choices even if lunch has to be served earlier or later.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Aloha Katrina, I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy our lunch, we have had great lunch reviews. The lunch is provided by the chef that was featured on Gordon Ramsay uncharted show. Yes, there are many cheaper Hana tour companies that provide a sandwich from the supermarket and a no lunch option. We strive to provide local cuisine, foods and snack to experience the real Hawaii. Again I do apologize that you didn’t enjoy our lunch. Mahalo
star-1
DO NOT USE this TOUR COMPANY
Meghan_G
, Jul 2022
Mahalo Tours sent me a text message at 6:15 AM (45-minutes ahead of my pick-up time at 7 AM) the day of my tour to cancel due to the driver testing positive for covid. I understand covid can't be controlled, but they should've had other back-up drivers ready to go, or they should've been on the phone immediately trying to get me rebooked with another tour company. I am vaccinated and boosted and already had covid, so I asked them if we were willing to sign waivers, if they could reschedule with a different driver. They said that all other drivers had been exposed to the driver that tested positive, so they too had to quarantine. Apparently, this company hadn't figured out a business continuity plan in the last 2 years to ensure only certain teams were exposed to each other to limit the fall-out of someone testing positive. I asked them to call other tour companies to get me rebooked, and they said that they would. But then when I texted them back and inquired if they had found anything, they never texted me back. That was so disrespectful and infuriating. At that point, I tried to call other tour companies to get a last minute booking and went online to try, but by that time, it was too late. All of the companies had their pick-up schedules planned and the drivers had already left the shops. Mahalo Tours should've been on the phone immediately with the other tour companies to try to rebook us after they discovered their driver tested positive. Perhaps an hour ahead of time at 6 AM would've ensured we got slotted into the schedule of another tour company. By the time I was able to get online and start trying to call other tours, it was close to 7 AM (which is the time the tours start to pick-up people from their hotels). Had the tour company called other tour companies immediately at 6 AM, perhaps I could've gotten rebooked. Given it was my last day in Hawaii, I couldn't reschedule for the next day and so I left Maui without having done the Road to Hana (one of the main reasons for me booking a trip there). I'm still waiting for my refund as well. I will never use this tour company again.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Aloha Meghan, We contacted all the passengers as soon as possible, unfortunately we had to cancel the tours following the health guidelines of Hawaii. As a courtesy we contacted other tour companies but no one wanted to take a passenger traveling solo (their policy). As we advised you we were not the only company canceling tours that day because of covid restrictions. You booked this tour via a third party. They are the company that needs to refund you. We’ve done our part in confirming that the tour did not run and you should be refunded.
star-5
Excellent road trip to Hana! Must do!
jaysal_p
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide Zach was awesome. He made the day so much fun! He kept us fed all day. He was very informative about Hana. The lunch food was absolutely delicious! My family loved this trip and highly recommend this tour!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent tour!!
Christina_M
, Jun 2022
If you’re looking for everything the Road to Hana has to offer then this is the best tour! our tour guide, Louie, was knowledgeable, hysterical, and kept us well fed all day long! You cannot go wrong with this tour!! My husband and I weren’t sure whether to drive Hana ourselves or go with the tour. We are so happy we did this tour, we wouldn’t have felt confident doing it on our own. Louie got us safely around the entire day!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers
Small Group Road to Hāna Tour 6 to 8 passengers

star-4.5281

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$217.71

star-5314

10 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$210.00

star-4.5510

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$292.32

star-5981

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$219.99

star-5390

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$499.00

star-4.582

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$260.00

star-4.5566

12 hours 5 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$219.99

star-561

12 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$510.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations