Recent Searches

Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour

star-4.593 Reviews
Kapalua, United States
Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon7 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more


Many travelers summit Haleakala for the sunrise but you can beat the crowds by visiting for an equally scenic sunset instead. Enjoy the best sunset view on Maui from the island's tallest peak. .
  • Hassle-free pickup and drop-off from most hotels
  • View the volcanic crater from the Haleakala Visitor Center
  • Avoid the sunrise crowds on Haleakala by visiting for sunset instead

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Beat the sunrise crowds and watch the sunset from the top of Mt. Haleakala instead.
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Haleakala National Park admission fee
Tour narration by a professional driver/guide
Pick-up and drop-off at specific Maui hotels
Port pickup and drop-off

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

The tour times provided reflect the start and end of the tour, but not your exact pickup and drop off time. Whether or not you've provided your hotel/lodging at the time of booking, you are required to contact the tour provider no less than (2) days prior to your tour date to receive your exact pickup time and location. The tour provider will advise you of the specific area at the hotel/lodging you should wait; for example "at the front entrance." Please be there at least 5 minutes before your pickup time. If your hotel/lodging is not included on our pickup schedule, you'll be advised to meet at nearby location. Please note that we are prohibited by certain properties to pickup non-hotel guests and we do not pick-up at private properties such as AirBnB's and residential areas.
After the convenient hotel pickup in an air-conditioned coach, sink into a comfortable seat for the journey up the mountain. Make a stop at the Kula Lodge Marketplace where you can experience the art and culinary talents of Maui and Hawaii's renowned artists and craftsmen.

After a stop at the Haleakala Park Visitor Center at about 7,000 feet (2,134m), make the final, winding, push towards the volcano’s magnificent summit. The crater overlook is just below the summit at 9,740 feet (2,969m), and there’s a good chance you’ll be one of the only people there. Gaze upon the colorful crater with its smooth, lunar cinder cones, and peer across the orange horizon to the peaks of the Big Island in the distance. After staying to watch the stars twinkle high above the volcano, you will begin your descent the mountain with the evening concluding with a convenient drop-off right back at your hotel.
Stop At:  
Haleakalā National Park
Majestic views of the sunset from 9,740 feet elevation.
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Kula Marketplace
Brief stop at the Kula Marketplace offering purchase of light drinks and snacks.
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Please contact the tour provider at minimum of 7 days prior to the tour date for ADA and all special requests.
  • Haleakala is known for rapidly changing weather conditions and dense clouds and rain are common. As a result, clear viewing of the sunrise is not guaranteed, and the tour operates rain or shine. Refunds will be granted only when the tour is cancelled for safety reasons.
  • The high altitude at the summit area may complicate health conditions and breathing difficulties. Elderly visitors, pregnant women, young children, and those with respiratory or heart conditions should consult their doctor prior to touring. Walk slowly and drink water to avoid dehydration. If you have gone scuba diving, you should wait at least 24 hours before going on this tour.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Polynesian Adventure Tours
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour.
What is the policy on sanitization during Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour.
What is the social distancing policy during Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


93 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 93 reviews
Stunning Haleakala Sunset
, Jun 2022
Our guide, Mitch, was so personable and a wealth of information about the local landscape as well as Hawaiian culture. His van was very comfortable and on the way home, the music from a local Hawaiian artist was soothing and enjoyable. Haleakala did not disappoint as we had great weather for viewing the gorgeous sunset in such surreal natural surroundings. If you’re not up to the early wake up call for the sunrise (I’ve done both now), this is a fabulous alternative! Just be sure to bring snacks or buy some at the quaint market stop, as dinner is not included due to the fact that the restaurant they used to partner with closed as a result of the pandemic.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Breath taking views
, Jun 2022
Breath taking. This was a great trip to the top of the volcano and to be that high, above the clouds, and to see the sunset, was priceless. The drive was quite long but that's just part of the trip. It's still scenic driving up the volcano. It's pretty cold up there, especially the night we went, and obviously windy, so at a minimum, take a jacket or hoodie, maybe nothing loose like a cap or glasses as they could blow away. Beautiful sites and scenes and the crater was fantastic. Tour guide was great, informative, and apologetic due to slight delay which was caused by confusion at the dispatch office. Would recommend this trip for couples and families.
, Jun 2022
We were unable to get a hold of the company to explain our transport to the pick up might be a little late and to see if they could wait or pick us up somewhere else. The driver of the transport was from the same company of the tour and told me I had to call that he was unable to call dispatch. I found this disappointing that he wasn't willing to help us out. We ended up missing our ride therefore was unable to to make the Haleakala Sunset tour. I called twice while on the way to the pick up spot and noone answered the phone. I also emailed 2x right away and have never heard from the company.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are sorry to hear about your difficulties with getting assistance. Thank you for posting a review and we'll follow up if we haven't responded already.
2 travelers found this review helpful
A must do
, May 2022
This is definitely a must do. Our guide was great and the views were awesome. Take a jacket as it is cold at the 9740 foot elevation. The tour busses are not allowed allowed to go to the top but it is still great as I have done it in both spots.
1 traveler found this review helpful
A lot of bus time!
, May 2022
The teeny tiny glimpse of the sun at the summit. After a very long bus ride with the guide who was nice and informative, we reached the summit at 41 degrees in rain. Everyone was cold and miserable and in such weather there’s nothing to see. Obviously this is not the tour operators fault. But, at this price point, water should be complementary ( it isn’t) and the guide should walk around the summit with the guests ( he doesn’t) For the price of this tour, to me, it’s too iffy whether you’ll get a view of the sunset to risk it. Who wants to spend over 6 hours in a bus for ultimately nothing ? Find other ways to spend your tour dollars, IMO.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Aloha and thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback which allows us to make continuous improvements. Mahalo!
Incredible views! Highly...
, Apr 2022
Incredible views! Highly recommend to anyone visiting Maui. The crater was amazing and the sunset was stunning.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Sunset dream
, Mar 2022
Amazing views and wonderful tour guide. We loved getting all the information about the local environment. The views were majestic.
Beautiful views but Logistically poorly organized
, Feb 2022
While the view of the sunset was stunningly beautiful, I would not recommend this tour company - logistics was a complete mess. First, if I had not asked, I would not have known that dinner was no longer a part of the package. Second, I was told the bus would pick me up at 1:50pm. I was picked up 30 minutes behind schedule and there was no apology. Third, we switched buses and combined to a larger group halfway through the trip, both on the way there and on the way back, losing another 30 minutes.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Aloha and thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry that your pickup was delayed and also that you weren't informed about the tour not including dinner. Since COVID, restaurants aren't able to open late due to staffing concerns. Hope you enjoyed the islands. Mahalo!
Beautiful views! Great ride!
, Jun 2021
Beautiful sunset view and a comfortable ride. Our driver was entertaining and very easy going. Highly recommend!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Awesome Views above the clouds
, May 2021
Beautiful views as we rode to the summit above the clouds. Driver -Cama-was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of good information and took lots of fun pics for us. With the wind blowing at the summit at sunset it was very cold. I would highly recommend bringing gloves along - holding the phone or camera for any length of time was extremely cold on the hands.
, May 2021
The day before the excursion they called to cancel the dinner portion. Then while we are waiting for pickup they called to say the complete excursion was canceled. No reason given for either cancellation. Also, two refunds do not match the total amount paid.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
We are sorry about the cancellation, thank you for your understanding. If you didn't receive the exact refund for the amount you paid please kindly contact your booking agency - TripAdvisor/Viator. Mahalo!
It’s a MUST SEE in Maui!
, Sep 2019
Very organized & efficient company. Confirmed reservation & pickup location early on. The staff is unbelievably kind & knowledgeable of the history Hawai’i. The views, ocean or an ocean of clouds is something one may never experience again. Absolutely must see in Maui!!
Awesome experience
, Jan 2019
They picked from our hotel. Tour guide Henry was great. Very informative and funny. Stopped regularly at interesting places and bathroom breaks. Sunset was worth it on the top. Good dinner to end it
1 traveler found this review helpful
Awesome trip! Our tour guide was...
, Mar 2018
Awesome trip! Our tour guide was outstanding. Being a local, he knew so much information that he shared that made the drive to and from interesting. He went out of his way to make sure we ALL had a great experience. He got out of his van, up on Mt. Haleakala and took many pictures of us in order for us to have great memories. The other driver/guide just sat in her van while ours was out with us sharing the COLD and and beautiful sights. It WAS cold!! Some of our fellow travelers showed up in shorts, skirts, sleeveless shirts and and froze their buns off. PEOPLEbelieve 5e description when it tells you to bring coats and other cold weather gear. Were from Chicago and we were glad we had brought a light winter coat, gloves, and hatyou need them. The vistas at the top are incomparable. If youre going to Mauitake this tour.
Henry profidec a wonderful tour...
Nelson B
, Mar 2018
Henry profidec a wonderful tour. He had a wealth of knowledge and and a great sense of humor. The food was actually good. The sights from the top were wonderfull as well as the intermediate stops.
1 traveler found this review helpful
This is a great tour if you don't...
, Jan 2018
This is a great tour if you don't want to worry about anything and let someone else take you up. Although our tour guide was very nice and helpful and easy to get along with, after doing the tour, i couldn't justify the price point. I paid a lot of money considering the road going up is actually very smooth, the only issue is the height. If you have already rented a car which almost everyone does and heights don't bug you, i would highly recommend just driving up yourselfJust drive slowly when going down. The sunset is amazing and so are the views at the top. We spent about an hour and a half at the top and then VERY quickly made our way down for the dinner. The dinner was ok, but nothing crazy. The tour also doesn't take you to the summit Where the observatories are, but if you drive yourself, you can go up there too. But just keep in mind, its not that much higher than where this tour takes you. The cost to enter is around 25-30 i think, so its definitely worth it to just drive up yourself and we saw TONS of people who had driven up themselves.
The overall experience was...
Paul S
, Nov 2017
The overall experience was amazing--and the tour guide Henry only made it better! The tour is extremely well organized and efficient, yet we always felt the aloha spirit. What a wonderful opportunity! Roads to and from the top are very winding, so recommend folks prone to motion sickness take appropriate precautions.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Excellent tour! Being above the...
Julie R
, Jun 2017
Excellent tour! Being above the clouds was unreal. Our tour guide, Judy, was very knowledeable about the area and shared some very interesting facts. The dinner, following sunset was just OK at best. We didn't get to eat until well after 9pm and the food was just mediocre. The server we had was nice and friendly but I got the impression that he, along with the rest of the staff at the restaurant were ready to close up and go home. Still, the sights on the mountain well surpassed the meal.
1 traveler found this review helpful
As others reviewers have said, Henry...
, May 2017
As others reviewers have said, Henry was great, funny, knowledgeable and a skilled driver. Our weather was good and sunset clear. The disappointing thing was the poor quality of the meal and rushed service waitress literally slammed water glass on table. Go enjoy the view which is totally amazing! Check the weather forecast before you book.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Henry, our driver, was excellent. He...
Valerie Y
, Sep 2016
Henry, our driver, was excellent. He was a skilled driver, very knowledgeable and entertaining. There are many switch backs up and down the volcano, so some in our group had some motion sickness. The view inside the dormant volcano and the sunset were well worth a visit. Thank goodness we were down on flat ground when a mechanical problem with the bus and this stranded us until a replacement bus could come and transfer us to another vehicle. This was done without too much delay and we were taken to the restaurant for the pre paid evening meal. This is when things started to go more seriously wrong. Cafe O Ley provided a tolerable meal, but their staff very obviously were aggravated by our delayed arrival. After rushing us through our meal they told us our buses were waiting outside to transfer us to our various resorts. They didn't even serve us the coffee that was promised on the menu. There were no buses waiting outside, and so 24 passengers were stranded outside not knowing what was happening. I did spot one of the waitresses hurrying off home. Two different groups in our party took taxis rather than wait beyond the twenty five minutes we were stranded there. The chaos seemed to have been caused by all the company's buses bring over extended by a cruise ship being in Lahaina, They obviously could not cope when one of their buses had to be taken out of commission . Hopefully this will be a rare occurrence for future travellers. Thank goodness our bus had completed the worst of the road's challenges coming down the steep side of the volcano before some of the mechanics failed.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Haleakala Maui Sunset Tour


7 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation




Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations