Recent Searches
Clear

Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults

star-4.5362 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore a sinister side of Edinburgh on this late-night ghost walking tour that includes the Blair Street Vaults under South Bridge. Stroll mysterious alleyways as you listen to your guide’s grim and ghastly tales of treason and torture. Then venture underground for a candlelight tour of the 18th-century chambers and hear haunting stories of supernatural forces lingering in the city's darkest corners.
  • Edinburgh late-night ghost walking tour
  • Experience Edinburgh’s famous haunted Blair Street Underground Vaults by candle light
  • Visit sites of documented hauntings, ghosts and spirits
  • Hear fascinating stories of crimes, hangings and mysterious legends from your expert guide
Saved to wishlist!
Exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults
Award-winning local storytellers
Small group experience
TourTalk radio receiver to enjoy immersive storytelling at safe distance
Mercat Cross , High St, Edinburgh EH1 1RF, UK

You will see staff wearing black and orange clothing and lanyard as well as a Mercat umbrella.

28 Blair St , 28 Blair St, Edinburgh EH1 1QR, UK

This tour ends at the Blair Street Vaults

Take a ghost walking tour through Edinburgh and discover its mysterious secrets and chilling history. Your entertaining guide leads you down side streets and alleyways, and recounts supernatural history, fiendish plots and sinister tales from the city’s darkest corners to its subterranean chambers.

Visit sites of hangings and documented spirit hauntings; discover where Edinburgh’s disreputable characters committed crimes of passion; and hear legendary stories, such as that of a wizard who was burned at the stake. Learn, too, about the notorious ‘bodysnatchers’ who reputedly stole fresh bodies from graveyards to sell to medical schools for anatomy lectures.

Then follow your guide underground to the Blair Street Vaults, built under the 19 stone arches of the South Bridge constructed in the late 18th century. Led by candlelight flickering in the shadows, you’ll see where lively poltergeists bide their time and learn of Edinburgh’s darkest deeds before your tour ends back above ground.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Mercat Cross
Learn about the sinister history of the Mercat Cross - where murderers, criminals met brutal justice at the hands of the Edinburgh mob - tour meeting point.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
St Giles' Cathedral
What secrets lie hidden from sight in the hallowed ground of the ancient St Giles?
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Royal Mile
Discover the hidden closes of Edinburgh you would miss, and the stories they hold...
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Mercat Tours
Descend into the Blair Street Vaults and uncover the darker side of life.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Edinburgh Old Town
Hear the grim story of the old city of Edinburgh.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 7 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • Tours are guaranteed all year round, so please dress for the weather, with comfortable shoes.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Mercat Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Besides I liked it being at 10pm: it gave time to have supper before :" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
362 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 362 reviews
star-4
Great Guide
debrawagner69
, Aug 2022
Our tour guide was great but wish we had walked around to some more areas. Loved going into the vaults
star-5
Ghost tour
Frank_S
, Jul 2022
Storyteller was great! Would have liked to hear a bit more about the history of the vaults, but experience was great!
star-4
Plenty of shock, with no shlock.
Marshall_D
, Jun 2022
While I absolutely wanted to see Edinburgh's famous underground, I had no interest in seeing costumed characters trying to scare me. This tour struck an excellent blend of history, fable, and just a little bit of drama for added effect. The tales that Maeve shared were interesting and gruesome and the sights leading up to the underground were interesting. The underground was the highlight, of course, and we spent almost exactly the perfect amount of time there, hearing about the actual history and the paranormal tales of an extraordinarily creepy setting. Less time would have been too short and longer would have started to get claustrophobic. I highly recommend it.
star-3
Not what I wanted
CharlesF_M
, May 2022
I thought I was going to hear about the history of the underground vaults and their significance in Edinburgh’s past; however, unfortunately I did not. The tour was more of a “ghost tour” and guides told stories to make you think spirits dwelled in the vaults. It was not what I wanted and was disappointing in historical content.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Charles, Thanks for joining us. I'm sorry to hear that the tour wasn't what you wanted. We do have a history only tour of the vaults which may have been more to your tastes. The tour you booked however was a ghost tour. All the best, Kim
star-4
Great for people who like the darker side of history really good tour
Angela_H
, Apr 2022
The vaults very spooky great story telling by Mark . The tour is not too long so it keeps your interest
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Scam,scam,sxam
Jayne_L
, Mar 2022
The 'tour'was a disaster. On arrival at the meeting point we were met by no one. Phone calls were unanswered and our night was ruined. Please people do not use this company
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Jayne, I'm extremely sad to see this negative review. We sent you all of the relevant information about the meeting point and time, as we do for all of our visitors. All other fourteen visitors booked onto the same tour made it on. We had team at both the Mercat Cross and the office at the time of your tour. Our team also wait at least an additional 15 minutes in the case of a visitor not showing up incase they are running late. Hence, we are unsure how you were unable to contact anyone. Please could you send us over more information at info@mercattours.com so that we can look into this. Kind Regards, Kim
star-5
Fantastic tour
Nia_B
, Jan 2022
Our guide was hilarious if he isn’t a stand up comedian when he’s not being a guide he should be! Fantastic tour, really interesting, Incredibly creepy and made me jump out of my skin on many occasions!
star-1
Crap
kieran_b
, Nov 2021
If you have any sense. Max out your credit cards and wait for the bill to come in. That’ll give you a bigger fright. Avoid this bull and stay in pub.
star-2
Our Guide was lovely and...
Shelby_H
, Oct 2021
Our Guide was lovely and she really did make a fun atmosphere and the headphone set was a nice touch. However if you're looking to hear any real haunted history of Edinburgh this isn't for you. There wasn't much of a walking tour which was why we booked. Whole thing altogether was short lived. The 'tour' was like a 2 minute walk down the Royal Mile, then half an hour in the vaults No real history or stories told or learned, in truth we have no idea what the vaults were really used for. It was half an hour of made up ghost stories that made no sense to the tour and a heap of ramble about other groups feeling weird chills. For the money it cost, we left with no real ghostly history about Edinburgh, just that a few people 'passed' out in the vaults feeling a 'ghostly presence'.
star-4
Edinburgh's hidden past
Susan_H
, Sep 2021
Learning Edinburgh's dark and disturbing history. Going to places the public don't normally get to see
star-5
Brilliant night tour
Joanne_M
, Sep 2021
This is a great tour made better by our guide Steve who brought the stories alive. Well worth joining the tour.
star-5
Spoooooooooky
Dan_P
, May 2021
Great fun and great stories that vaults felt very spooky and I got an evil looking lady in a photo who wasn’t even there
star-5
Great tour
Cherril_B
, May 2021
Lauren was a brilliant guide...informative and funny..vaults were amazing and interesting ..would do again
star-4
Spooktacular night
Kathleen_C
, Oct 2020
Lauren was fab and stories were great. Very enjoyable and interesting . We had a fun time would do it again .
star-5
Anna’s fear
Heath_B
, Oct 2020
Laura was an excellent tour guide. Great knowledge and a good story teller. Very chilling evening. I felt a cold breath on the back of my neck. Think Mr Boots was stood behind me.
star-4
Guide was amazing
Jodie_L
, Sep 2020
Had an amazing time, however quite disappointed that I paid the money for the vaults and I didn’t get in, I understand that with the current pandemic situation however it shouldn’t have been advertised as “ including vaults” when they were closed
star-5
So funny!!!
Giuseppe S
, Dec 2019
Ana was great in leading us through the town and the vaults, making it a very funny experience yet teaching how dark the past of this city is. Loved it! Besides I liked it being at 10pm: it gave time to have supper before :)
star-5
Excellent your with an excellent guide!
elsippitts
, Nov 2019
We went on the Mercat tour last night and thoroughly enjoyed it! It was a little on the chilly side, but our guide Karis was so engaging, it was the last thing you thought about. The stories were all really interesting and the whole experience was performed with a convincingly sinister performance! Would highly recommend this tour to anyone!
star-1
Poor Comic Jokes Ruin Ghost Walk
rob1angels
, Oct 2019
Third rate acting and poorly delivered jokes ruined what was supposed to be an informative ghost walk in the city of Edinburgh. Having paid our £28 in eager anticipation, and looking forward to a Halloween Week ghost tour in, reportedly, one of the 10 most haunted cities in the world, myself and my partner were subjected to over an hour's worth of awful theatrical acting and infantile school boy humour. It ruined our evening, which proved to be pure torture just to listen to our guide deliver his cheesy one liners! Avoid this tour at all costs.
star-4
Nice evening walk and some funny stories
antonsigurdur
, Oct 2019
This was recommended to me by a friend that did the tour so I decided to jump on it. I really enjoyed it and would recommend this to anyone. Alun was very funny and obviously likes what he does as he showed great passion for this and was very funny and relevant. Liked the stories a lot and learned a few things. If anything, the trip was too short and I would have loved to hear more stories and historic events.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults
Small Group Edinburgh Night Walking tour including Underground Vaults

star-4.5362

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$26.75

star-4.5922

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$26.75

star-4.5327

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$33.42

star-4.5492

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.06

star-4.5195

1 hour 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.75

star-4.52760

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$17.31

star-4.520

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$46.80

star-4.5730

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$26.75

star-4.5420

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$22.26
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations